Trend Scouting | Images of the Future 2030

Circular Economy 4.0

15.08.2018
Future Business prepares the next complex trend topic with possible far-reaching effects for the entire mechanical and plant engineering sector. It does not only concern the currently much-discussed future of the plastics industry and waste and recycling technology, but all branches of industry with a connection to materials. Find out how you can contribute!

Autonomized Supply Chain

07.05.2018
How will the digitalization and autonomization of value chains change mechanical engineering by 2030? The 4th VDMA Future Business Summit provided answers. Lectures and pictures for download ::    :: For Members
21.03.2018
Digitization and networking are powerful drivers for the future of value creation networks worldwide. This changes production, economy and society as a whole - and therefore concerns all machinery and equipment manufacturers! Our fourth scenario study of the series "Images of the Future for Machinery and Equipment Engineering" for download upon request    :: For Members
Fundamental change in factory organization is imminent - Solutions for an increasingly networked world characterized by complexity and individualization - Fourth VDMA Future Business Summit presents scenarios and potential for the machinery industry
Thought through consistently to the end, Industry 4.0 means autonomisation: From platform economy and blockchain to autonomous mobility and data management - in Dortmund we show how digitalisation and networking are increasingly changing value chains and thus shaping the entire mechanical and plant engineering industry. Program and registration for download    :: For members
From smart contracts with blockchain to the organization of the "last mile" with drones - we show how digitization and networking are increasingly changing modern value chains and thus not only shaping logistics and production, but also the entire machinery and equipment engineering industry. Save the date: 20-21.03.2018!    :: For Members

Power-to-X and Climate Protection

06.12.2017
At the 3rd VDMA Future Business Summit, more than 80 participants discussed the top topic Power-to-X as a building block for global climate protection and the associated opportunities for mechanical engineering. Lectures and pictures for download    :: For members
21.11.2017
Ambitious climate protection and greenhouse gas neutrality require great efforts in all sectors. Power-to-X, the conversion of electricity into other forms of energy, can make a significant contribution - our third scenario study in the series "Images of the future for machinery and equipment engineering" for download     :: For members
21.11.2017
Electric power as the foundation for other forms of energy provides solutions for a wide range of applications - Mechanical engineering is a key industry for climate protection - Third VDMA Future Business Summit presents scenarios and potential opportunities for the mechanical and plant engineering industry
Climate change becomes a perennial issue – the current climate change conference in Bonn shows it. How can the climate targets of the Paris conference be reached? With “Power-to-X” we have developed compact scenarios for the machinery industry 2030. We will show you how and where this change affects your business and we will present the results with a top program exclusively on November 20/21 in Mainz.
04.09.2017
VDMA Future Business has focussed on "Power-to-X" as their third trend topic. Power-to-X is an important element to illustrate the way to greenhouse gas neutrality on a global scale.

Materials of the Future

08.06.2017
The second VDMA Future Business Summit in Darmstadt focused on innovations in materials and material components that will become important for the machinery industry in 2030. Presentations and photos available for download below.    :: For members
05.05.2017
For entrepreneurs it is important to find out the potentials of future materials for their own and for their customers’ business. The ability to take a broader view is crucial and close collaboration with research institutes is decisive.
05.05.2017
Materials of the future are drivers of innovation and are the second trend theme in our series "Images of the Future for the Machinery and Equipment Industry". Download of the results report of the scenario workshops.     :: For members
29.03.2017
Future materials are a source of innovations in products and production. Which ones will become important for your business? What kind of new business opportunities will come up or will old markets be turned upside down? Where does regulation have disruptive effects? You will get answers and impulses on May 5, 2017 in Darmstadt. Join us!
17.02.2017
Trend topic "Materials of the future" How many do you know? Which ones will become important for your business? We will present the results sf our second round of pictures of the future at the 2nd Future Business Summit in Darmstadt on May 5, 2017.

Machine Learning / Artificial Intelligence

07.08.2017
The images of the future "Machine Learning 2030" have set the starting point for further VDMA activities. The new group of experts "Machine Learning" deepens this exciting topic with committed members and VDMA actors involved.
26.04.2017
Machine learning enables efficient control of big data and ensures that software and information technology are becoming increasingly important drivers of innovation in the machinery and equipment sector. The VDMA is therefore setting up a new "Machine Learning" working group to implement recommendations.
29.03.2017
Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence have aroused great interest since the publication of our study. On 12.05.2017 we will further deepen the topic for all areas of application in the machinery and equipment industry. Our partner organization is the Fraunhofer Big Data Alliance.
08.12.2016
The first VDMA Future Business Summit on 25.11.2016 was all about artificial intelligence, self-learning systems and data scientists. Lectures and pictures for download    :: For Members
Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence are the first topics in our series "Images of the Future for Machinery and Equipment Engineering". Download the results report.     :: For members
25.11.2016
Machine Learning, a special sector of artificial intelligence, will shape the digital transformation of the economy and thus be extremely important for the machinery industry as well
Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning will change the machinery and equipment industry. We will show you how and why this will happen at our first Future Business Summit on November 24/25, 2016 in Stuttgart in co-operation with Fraunhofer ISI and Fraunhofer IPA.  :: For Members
Dr. Eric Maiser
Dr. Eric Maiser
Head of VDMA Competence Center Future Business | Director VDMA Corporate Foresight | Director VDMA Startup-Machine
+49 69 6603-1433
+49 69 6603-2433
Sabine Egerer
Sabine Egerer
Assistant to the Director Future Business, Corporate Foresight, Startup-Machine
+49 69 6603-1592
+49 69 6603-2592
Trend Radar Mechanical Engineering 2030
The 360-degree view: trends and disruptions that may become relevant for the machinery industry in the coming years and decades, compiled as easy-to-use, straightforward trend cards. First edition 2016, in German. :: Download for members

Autonomisierte Supply Chain

07.08.2018
exklusiv für VDMA-Mitglieder verfügbar
07.05.2018
Wie verändern die Digitalisierung und die Autonomisierung von Wertschöpfungsketten den Maschinenbau bis 2030? Antworten vermittelte der 4. VDMA Future Business Summit. Vorträge und Bilder zum Download    :: Für Mitglieder
21.03.2018
Digitalisierung und Vernetzung sind mächtige Treiber für die Zukunft von Wertschöpfungsnetzwerken weltweit. Dies wandelt Produktion, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft insgesamt - und geht deshalb alle Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer an! Unsere vierte Szenariostudie der Reihe "Zukunftsbilder für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau" zum Download    :: Für Mitglieder
Fundamentaler Wandel der Fabrikorganisation steht bevor - Lösungsansätze für eine zunehmend vernetzte Welt, geprägt durch Komplexität und Individualisierung - Vierter VDMA Future Business Summit zeigt Szenarien und Potenziale für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau
Industrie 4.0 konsequent zu Ende gedacht bedeutet Autonomisierung: Von Plattformökonomie und Blockchain über autonome Mobilität bis hin zum Datenmanagement - wir zeigen in Dortmund, wie Digitalisierung und Vernetzung Wertschöpfungsketten zunehmend verändern und damit den gesamten Maschinen- und Anlagenbau prägen. Programm und Anmeldund als download    :: Für Mitglieder
Von Smart Contracts mit Blockchain bis zur Organisation der "letzten Meile" mit Drohnen - wir zeigen, wie Digitalisierung und Vernetzung moderne Wertschöpfungsketten zunehmend verändern und damit nicht nur Logistik und Produktion, sondern auch den gesamten Maschinen- und Anlagenbau prägen. Save the date: 20.-21.03.2018!    :: Für Mitglieder

Power-to-X und Klimaschutz

06.12.2017
Auf dem 3. VDMA Future Business Summit diskutierten mehr als 80 Teilehmer das Top-Thema Power-to-X als Baustein für den weltweiten Klimaschutz und die damit verbundenen Chancen für den Maschinenbau. Vorträge und Bilder zum Download    :: Für Mitglieder
21.11.2017
Ambitionierter Klimaschutz und Treibhausgasneutralität erfordern große Anstrengungen in allen Sektoren. Power-to-X, die Umwandlung von Strom in andere Energieformen, kann einen bedeutenden Beitrag leisten - unsere dritte Szenariostudie der Reihe "Zukunftsbilder für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau" zum Download :: Für Mitglieder
21.11.2017
Elektrischer Strom als Basis für andere Energieformen bietet Lösungen für große Anwendungsvielfalt - Maschinenbau ist Schlüsselindustrie für den Klimaschutz - Dritter VDMA Future Business Summit zeigt Szenarien und Chancenpotenziale für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau
Klimawandel wird zum „Dauerbrenner“, die aktuelle Klimakonferenz in Bonn zeigt das. Wie können die Pariser Klimaziele erreicht werden? Wir haben mit dem Fokus "Power-to-X" kompakte Szenarien für den Maschinenbau für 2030 erarbeitet, wo und wie sich dieser Wandel im Geschäft niederschlägt und präsentieren die Ergebnisse mit einem Top-Programm am 20./21.11. exklusiv in Mainz.
04.09.2017
VDMA Future Business hat sich als drittes großes Trendthema "Power-to-X" vorgenommen. Power-to-X ist ein Baustein, mit dem der Weg zur Treibhausgasneutraltiät auf internationalem Parkett sehr anschaulich gezeigt werden kann.

Zukunftswerkstoffe

08.06.2017
Auf dem zweiten VDMA Future Business Summit in Darmstadt drehte sich alles um Material- und Werkstoffinnovationen, die für den Maschinenbau 2030 wichtig werden. Vorträge und Bilder zum Download    :: Für Mitglieder
05.05.2017
Für Unternehmer ist es wichtig, die Potenziale von Zukunftswerkstoffen für ihr eigenes Geschäft und das ihrer Kunden herauszufinden. Entscheidend ist dabei der Blick über den Tellerrand, im engen Schulterschluss mit der Forschung.
05.05.2017
Zukunftswerkstoffe sind Innovationstreiber und bilden das zweite Trendthema unserer Reihe "Zukunftsbilder für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau". Ergebnisbericht der Szenarioworkshops zum Download.     :: Für Mitglieder
29.03.2017
Zukunftswerkstoffe sind Quelle für Innovationen in Produkten und Produktion. Welche davon werden wichtig für Ihr Business? Was bietet neue Geschäftschancen oder stellt alte Märkte auf den Kopf? Wo wirkt Regulierung disruptiv? Antworten und Impulse am 05.05.2017 in Darmstadt. Seien Sie dabei!
17.02.2017
Trendthema "Zukunftswerkstoffe" Wieviele kennen Sie? Welche davon werden wichtig für Ihr Business? Wir präsentieren Ihnen die Ergebnisse unserer zweiten Runde Zukunftsbilder auf dem 2. Future Business Summit am 05.05.2017 in Darmstadt

Machine Learning

07.08.2017
Die Zukunftsbilder "Machine Learning 2030" haben einen Startpunkt für weitergehende VDMA-Aktivitäten gesetzt. Der neue Expertenkreis "Machine Learning" vertieft dieses spannende Thema mit engagierten Mitgliedern und beteiligten VDMA-Akteuren.
26.04.2017
Machine Learning ermöglicht die effiziente Beherrschung von Big Data und sorgt dafür, dass Software und Informatik immer stärker zum maßgeblichen Innovationstreiber im Maschinenbau werden. Der VDMA gründet daher einen neuen Arbeitskreis „Machine Learning“, der Empfehlungen umsetzt.
29.03.2017
Machine Learning und Künstliche Intelligenz haben seit der Veröffentlichung unserer Studie großes Interesse ausgelöst. Am 12.05.2017 vertiefen wir das Thema weiter für alle Anwendungsbereiche im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau. Unsere Partnerorganisation ist die Fraunhofer-Allianz Big Data.
08.12.2016
Auf dem ersten VDMA Future Business Summit am 25.11.2016 drehte sich alles um Künstliche Intelligenz, selbstlernende Systeme und Data Scientists. Vorträge und Bilder zum Download    :: Für Mitglieder
Machine Learning und Künstliche Intelligenz sind der erste Themenblock unserer Reihe "Zukunftsbilder für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau". Ergebnisbericht zum Download.     :: Für Mitglieder
25.11.2016
Machine Learning, ein Teilbereich der Künstlichen Intelligenz, wird die digitale Transformation der Wirtschaft prägen und damit auch für den Maschinenbau von großer Bedeutung sein.
Künstliche Intelligenz und Machine Learning werden den Maschinenbau verändern - wir zeigen wie und warum beim ersten Future Business Summit am 24.-25.11.2016 in Stuttgart in Zusammenarbeit mit Fraunhofer ISI und Fraunhofer IPA.   :: Für Mitglieder
Dr. Eric Maiser
Dr. Eric Maiser
Leiter VDMA Competence Center Future Business | Leiter VDMA Corporate Foresight | Leiter VDMA Startup-Machine
069 6603-1433
069 6603-2433
Sabine Egerer
Sabine Egerer
Assistenz des Leiters Future Business, Corporate Foresight, Startup-Machine
069 6603-1592
069 6603-2592
Trendradar Maschinenbau 2030
Die 360-Grad-Sicht: Trends und Disruptionen, die für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau in den nächsten Jahren und Jahrzehnten relevant werden können, übersichtlich aufbereitet als Trendkarten zum Download. Erstauflage 2016.    :: Für Mitglieder